Friends of the Somme - Mid Ulster Branch  
13602m   Private John Kernaghan McAtee
Save as PDF
Dated added: 30/12/2015   Last updated: 20/08/2021
Personal Details
Regiment/Service: 9th Battalion, Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers (British Army)
Died: 01/07/1916 (Killed in Action)
Age: 25
John Kernaghan McAtee was the son of James and Mary Anne Kernaghan McAtee. He was born about 1893 in Clabby near Fivemiletown. John McAtee was the husband of Mary Blair McAtee. He enlisted at Finner Camp in County Donegal. Private John McAtee was serving with the 9th Battalion of the Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers when he was killed in action on the first day of the Battle of the Somme on Saturday 1st July 1916.
Read more on Private John Kernaghan McAtee
Cemetery Details
Cemetery: Thiepval Memorial
  Thiepval, Somme
Grave Ref: Face 4D-5B
CWGC Casualty 801998
The Thiepval Memorial will be found on the D73, next to the village of Thiepval, off the main Bapaume to Albert road (D929). Each year a major ceremony is held at the memorial on 1 July. The Thiepval Memorial to the Missing of the Somme is a war memorial to 72,337 missing British and South African servicemen who died in the Battles of the Somme of the First World War between 1915 and 1918, with no known grave. It is near the village of Thiepval, Picardy in France. Designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens, Thiepval has been described as "the greatest executed British work of monumental architecture of the twentieth century"
Local Memorial Details

No Memorial Name Townland
1 Fivemiletown War Memorial WW1 - Panel 1 Fivemiletown
Local Institute / Local Book Details

No Name Page
1 Fivemiletown War Dead Book 29
References and Links
No Link Reference Map Doc
1 1901 census lists a John McAtee Possibly lists John as age 15 living with his grandparents at house 28 in Lack, Fermanagh
2 1911 census lists a John K McAtee Possibly lists John K as age 23 living with his grandmother at house 18 in Lisky Hill, Fintona, Tyrone
3 National Archives UK Medal Card can be purchased here
Dungannon District's War Dead Acknowledgements 2015-2023